Month: July 2008

  • Grr…

    Do you know what this is?

    Grr

    It’s a half-finished Tidal Wave Sock that doesn’t fit.  Boo.  For the life of me, I cannot get the dumb thing over my heel, and believe me, I have tried!  I started these socks a zillion years ago, and now that it’s summer, the Tofutsies is really nice to work with, so I brought them on my trip and hoped to get some good work done on them.  And then, during a flash of brilliance in Italia, I decided to try them on mid-heel-turn.  Ruh-roh.

    Here’s the thing…I’m knitting using US 0 needles, because that’s what gives me a fabric that I like.  The pattern calls for US 1 needles.  For some reason, I completely ignored that.  No, I have no idea what I was thinking.

    I could keep knitting them and give them to someone with smaller feet, but they’re my favorite color and I love the pattern.  Also, anyone with feet small enough would probably be in the teenager-ish age range, and not only do I not know too many people that age, but I also don’t think I trust them to take good care of hand-knit socks! ; )

    So, one of these days, I’ll binge on Yarn Harlot, chocolate, and wine, and rip ‘em out.  I think that I will measure first, do some math, and add and extra pattern repeat or two.  I could go up to 1′s, but I really like how the fabric looks with 0′s.  What do y’all think?  Is adding another pattern repeat the best solution?