Month: May 2008

  • FO: Pinnate Shoulder Shawl

    FO - Pinnate Shoulder Shawl

    Yay! It’s finally finished and blocked!  

    Pattern: Pinnate Shoulder Shawl, from KarenJoSeattle – Great pattern, great blog, great blogger! When you cast on and start working the pattern, you have a sneaking suspicion that there is a stitch missing, but just trust the pattern. Really. It’s not technically symmetric (Scientists/mathematicians, just don’t think about it! If I can do it, you can too!) but it looks symmetric, which is what really matters.

    FO - Pinnate Shoulder Shawl

    Yarn: Brown Sheep Cotton Fleece – love it! It’s mostly cotton with a little bit of wool, so it has a bit more give than 100% cotton, but it doesn’t have any of the negatives of wool. It is notorious for bleeding, and I did have to wash it about a zillion times before the water ran clear, but I’m hoping that I got all the extra dye out. I used US6 Addi Turbos, which is larger than the needle size recommended in the pattern. Karen knits really loosely, so this didn’t surprise me. Just match your needles to your yarn.

    I tried really hardly to get good pics of the shawl ‘in action’ but I failed miserably. It’s about 9″ wide and 65″ long, and I used two skeins almost exactly. It works well as a little shoulder shawl (hence the name) and as a scarf, too. In exchange for not having action shots, here are some ‘artsy’ ones instead. ;)

    Twisted Vertical

    Twisted Horizontal

    =)